Honda CB750 Sandcast

New Member, Bethany, Ontario. Canada.

BenelliSEI

• View Profile
I’ve been collecting cb750’s for many years. Started when I had a ‘78 cb550K and my wife rode a ‘77 400F. My son started riding, so he got my 550K and I picked up a ‘78 750K.. Next, he picked up a K7 and that winter we started off with powder coated frames a built two “new bikes”. Since then, more than a few have passed through my shop. Last big project was a 1970 K0 (non Sandcast) that I restored using only NOS Honda parts. It came to me with two sets of Honda HM300 pipes that the previous owner had bought in the early ‘80s. In 2019 I took it to my first ever show, the Cobble Beach Concours and we won the top prize. I presently ride a pristine K1 and we also have a K3 and a K4 licensed and insured. At the back of the shop are a restored K6, K7 and K8.

Currently I’m restoring a 1974 Rickman CR that has been raced for all it’s life. I’m putting it back in road trim. Just a few weeks ago, I spotted a 1975 Honda CB750 based “Chopper” For Sale. Not my current style, but when I was a teenager, I did want one. It’s an Amen frame kit, with a Tony Carlini tank and Springer front  end. For sale by the original builder/owner, it’s spotless and a real piece of history. Fairly priced, but a five hour drive away....... Given the current “Covid Restrictions” I offered the fellow 75% of his asking price.  We went back and forth and in the end he mentioned an extra motorcycle he was prepared to add into the mix. A poor photograph caught my attention. The horn appeared to be on the left side....... I agreed and a few day ago, spent a long day retrieving the chopper (lovely beyond my expectations) and the “barn bike”.