Honda CB750 Sandcast

Western Illinois 5511

Don R · 15 · 4100

Don R

• View Profile
I'm 60 and retired. I've been working on and have owned Hondas since 1973 when I bought my first one. I recently aquired a Sandcast CB750 at the auction of a friends estate. He had run an independent Motorcycle shop and was a big 750 fan. He had bought this 750 from a friend who got it new but he never titled it. It appears he waxed it heavily and sprayed the chrome with WD40. It looked awful but cleans up very easily.
 There is another independent shop 30 miles from here, the owner worked at our local Honda shop in 69 and 70 before joining the service. He knew the first owner of this bike and auctually remembers assembling it since it was the first 750 sold here. The sandcast he still owns is the second one sold here.

The first owner's son will be in town next week so I saved the tall handlebars and red metalflake grips for him in case he wants them. His dad bought this bike and also a Honda mini trail for him at the same time. The son still has the mini trail. Hopefully there will be a photo I can get a copy of.
 I recently did a day two restoration of a hot rodded 750 diecast that had been heavily parts swapped. It's very nice to find this one that's all there and with the exception of handlebars was very original.

kp

• Administrator
    • View Profile

Sgt.Pinback

• View Profile
That sounds interresting. Wellcome!
Cheers, Uli (Leonberg, Germany)

markb

• View Profile
Nice find!  I'll be interested to hear more.  Pictures too.
Mark B
1969 CB750 sandcast #97 restored - Sold Restoration thread link
1969 CB750 sandcaxt #576 - Sold
1969 CB750 sandcast #1553 - Sold
1969 CB750 sandcast #1990 - Sold
1969 CB750 sandcast #5383 restored - Sold Restoration thread link
1970 CB750 K0 restored - Sold
2010 H-D Tri Glide Ultra Classic (Huh?)

Don R

• View Profile