Honda CB750 Sandcast

Blastphemy ? pipes of different manufacturers - filling paragraphs

greenjeans

• View Profile
Now before I get too deep in this, I am a big believer in "You get what you pay for"

1. Can we start a discussion about the pipes that are on ebay - from Vietnam ?   Blastphemy ?  Are they really that bad ?

2.  Honda paragraph HM300's - you can pick these up pretty easily for just over $1100 bucks - brand new.  At the Barber Vintage festival, I had an old-time chrome guy tell me that you could fill the writing and then re-chrome.   Not sure if you'd end up spending as much or more than the mythical no-no pipes from Yamiya.   I'm also curious as to what you'd fill the writing/stamping with ?   Lead ?

Anyone ever heard or tried this method ?

Steve Swan

• View Profile
    • cb750sandcastonly.com
During the "triple" chrome plate process, the first layer is copper.  A good plater will pool copper to fill minor defects.  I've no experience with the Vietnamese exhaust

greenjeans

• View Profile
Tenative new plan -

Buy new Honda 300 exhausts from dealer $1000 + tax (I buy alot of stuff from my dealer so he is willing to give me a small discount)  then, drop ship them (he has doesn't have them in stock, so I can save on some shipping costs) to the chrome plater I know in Georgia.    He will fill the paragraphs and re-chrome the pipes for $100 each (smoking deal I think) and ship them back to me.    Only works because the pipes are clean and un-used.
Just have to get him to remember to take the baffles out first  ;)

So....in theory, I could have a nice new shiney set of Honda No-No pipes for approximately $1500 - $1600 - almost half the cost of the Yamiya pipes.

Input and other ideas/suggestions greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2011, 10:44:42 am by greenjeans »

markb

• View Profile