Honda CB750 Sandcast

Refurbishing Master Culinder and other parts

42barab

• View Profile
I'm very new to refurbishing anything, so I want to be cautious.  Just took possession of a Master Cylinder and a ground (earth) cable.  See pics.  Wondering the most efficient means to clean up both.  I want to rebuild the MC so first step is getting the innards to loosen so I can remove them.  Can the complete MC be submersed in a rust remover (e.g. Metal Rescue)?  Or is it better to soak the insides with a penetrant?  The ground cable looks to be 100% braided wire, so I don't see any issues with soaking it, as long as I dry it out before use.  As for the brake lever, can the end of the handle be bent back into its proper configuration?  If so, would a propane torch work?

And after disassembly, I want to send the MC out to get a Chromic Black Anodized finish.  What would be the best resource?

Please see pics below, and ask for more if needed.  Thanks

Sam

• Administrator
    • View Profile
My approach to restoring a master cylinder:

1. Remove the internal components. This can be tough with old rusty master cylinder components. I have a special pair of pliers that I shaped to be able to grab the circlip. Once that circlip is out, the rest of the internal components will come out easily.

2. Send the master cylinder, cap and bar clamp to have the old anodizing removed. This will likely be done by the same place that will eventually anodize the parts. I usually have them mask off the internal parts of the master cylinder.

3. Polish the parts as best you can.

4. Have the parts type 1 (chromic) anodized in black. Again, I usually have them mask off the internal parts of the master cylinder.

Ask your local anodizer if they can do type 1 anodizing. I have a local place in East Palo Alto that I and few others on the forum have used:

Sanford Metal Processing Company

(650) 327-5172‬

990 OBrien Dr
Menlo Park CA 94025

Good luck!
Ujeni Motors
Sandcast #410