Honda CB750 Sandcast

New Guy in OC needs suggestions - Just got bike 778

Gutz · 36 · 7732

Gutz

• View Profile
Hello all from a total newbie to the forum and Honda's. I always new my father-in-law had two bikes in his garage hoard but I finally convinced him to let me take them off his hand to get running. These pictures show the unveiling - pretty stoked with what I found. When I started researching I really started to fall in love with the allure of this bike and classic bikes in general. So I'm in!

He is the original owner #778 1969 CB750 with very few mods. The pipes were sold in a garage sale without his permission, of course. I'm handy but definitely no wrencher, so a tear down is beyond me. Both bikes were driven into these spots in the garage and sat there supporting junk and boxes. The V65 was running 5 years ago and the CB about 23 years ago.

I really need some ideas of what I should do and I know this group has great ones. I'm considering 2 basic strategies.

1. Tune-up and do a classic look with some modern mods. Modern mods meaning whatever folks are doing to engine, carbs, filters, electrical to make it run better and look cooler. Also some subdued cosmetic mods, like pipes and handlebars. I would want the bike to look classic but upgraded, basically.

2. Total restore. I would do a my best to keep original, but probably not to the level that many of you have gone because I can't do all that stuff myself. I like the look but my concern is that if you don't go all the way, you just have a cool classic bike...that looks classic (old).

Whichever route I go, I don't want to devalue the bike in anyway. So I could use suggestions from all of you with experience on what my approach should be. Don't want to mess anything up. Your thoughts and suggestions are much appreciated. Thanks.

P.S. The bike was originally candy red. So should Candy red be my choice? With either of my options, I will likely get the factory paint.

Steve Swan

• View Profile