Honda CB750 Sandcast

Bringing 1983 / 2005 back to live

Sgt.Pinback

• View Profile
The other day I found # 1983 more or less by accident here in Germany.
An older man was offering parts on local eBay and when phoning with him I learned, he has a barn full of parts and bikes.
This particular bike was imported from the States in Feb. 1993 and not touched since then.

I got some pics from that SC resto bike via e-mail and after some difficult negotiations we agreed on a price.Before that I had some mails with Steve to get confirmation on the VIN and engine numbers to ensure, that everything is OK here.
Again, many thanks for your help, Steve.

So the bike finally is here and I started stripping here down and cleaning parts.

disclaimer:

The benchmark for restoration is extremely high here in this great forum. As to others, those fantastic resto documentations are the "bible" for me.
So I am sure I cant close up to that in any way.
In real live, I am no mechanic and even dont have an adequate workshop. In one word: I am a tax consultant.

« Last Edit: June 12, 2016, 08:47:31 am by Sgt.Pinback »
Cheers, Uli (Leonberg, Germany)

Sgt.Pinback

• View Profile
Here are two pics I got from the seller to get an impression what I may expect
Obviously many KO parts missing.

Here is a pic when we took her out of the barn with a snatch pulley

.. and a feature film to this mission. I call it "old farts taking old bike out of old barn"

(even if you speak German you wont understand what heīs saying)

« Last Edit: August 10, 2017, 01:27:12 am by Sgt.Pinback »

DW69K0

• View Profile
Good for you Uli!!
What a great find and unique recovery video!
Now the fun begins, finding those few components need to make your Sandcast whole again. Enjoy the success of finding your hidden gem.
Duane

Steve Swan

• View Profile
    • cb750sandcastonly.com
Uli, that looks like an absolutely lovely basis for restoration !  FANTASTIC VIDEO ! ;D;D;D !